A writing blog.

Didn’t Game As Much As I Planned To

Hello!

Statistics: total hours is 3. Feb 8, 6-8:30 and Feb 9 11-11:30. Sims 2 shut down after thirty minutes and I decided to work on homework instead.

It was a busy week last week and playing Sims 2 was a wonderful distraction that took my mind away from the real world for a bit. I was in a bit of a rut and needed a distraction and a way to clear my mind. It was also relaxing this past week to play the game. Maybe it was because the romance section in my genre fiction class was pretty much over and we were starting fantasy. It was actually this that gave me inspiration to start planning a game. I was thinking of a story and was going into the politics and when it would be set and where, when I thought this could be a pretty neat video game. We’re just going to see if the plans will turn out how I’m picturing it.

I find it very interesting to find out where the people that create video games have come up with their inspiration. It’s something that I love to learn about, more so in other authors, but I just started noticing how close video games and novels can be. It can sometimes give me inspiration for my stories when I find where other people have gotten theirs from; it’s also cool to see if I have anything in common with other authors. I’ve started to become more interested in the ways video games are written, like the storyline in the game. I was, at a time, interested in the development of a game but I’ve come to realize while that would be cool I just don’t think I’d be able to do it and would like to stay focused on the story. It’s what I love and what I want to do in life; besides teaching.

That’s one thing I like about Sims 2; you can create your own storyline. Each family will  be different, not just in looks, but their outlook on life, what they do, what they like, where they live. It’s amazing the different possibilities that come from the game. It’s relaxing and you don’t need to think except for what you want to name the characters and how you want their house to look. It’s a fantastic way to immerse yourself in a completely different world.

-wl

Works Cited

Maxis. The Sims 2: Mansion & Garden Stuff. Electronic Arts Inc. USA: 2008.

Leave a Reply

